Solange Knowles To Be Honored At The 70th Annual Parsons Benefit

Image Credit: A Seat At The Table Artwork

The New School will celebrate the 70th anniversary of the Parsons Benefit by honoring acclaimed musician, songwriter, and visual artist Solange Knowles alongside previously announced honorees Marco Bizzarri, President and CEO of the iconic Italian fashion house Gucci, and José Neves, Founder and CEO of the groundbreaking online retailer Farfetch.

“We are thrilled to be honoring Solange for her notable contributions to the music and fashion industries, and Gucci and Farfetch for their deep commitment to fostering innovative and inclusive design,” says Joel Towers, executive dean of Parsons School of Design. “Parsons was founded upon the idea that design can change the world, and our honorees are creating positive change that will impact the industry for years to come.”

Honorees will be recognized for their numerous innovative contributions to fashion, entrepreneurship, technology, and sustainability. The Parsons Benefit will take place on Monday, May 21, 2018 at Pier Sixty in New York City.

Parsons, one of the leading art and design schools in the world, hosts the Parsons Benefit in collaboration with The New School’s College of Performing Arts each year to present and empower the next generation of fashion designers and performers, and also to raise instrumental funds for student scholarships. Our donors’ generosity through the Benefit supports education that enables students to pursue studies in art, design, liberal arts, music, technology, and social innovation.

Solange, Marco Bizzarri, and José Neves join an esteemed list of past honorees. From Donna Karan to Tommy Hilfiger, LVMH to Macy’s, Rihanna to Sarah Jessica Parker, The New School celebrates all creative talent.

This year’s gala Benefit Chair is Julie Gilhart, along with Co-Chair Susan Rockefeller, and will include a show featuring the work of select graduating Parsons BFA Fashion Design students as well as performances featuring students from the College of Performing Arts. The Benefit Committee for the event includes Imran Amed, Richard Baker, Natalie Massenet, Camillo Pane, François-Henri Pinault, and Anna Wintour.

Suggested Articles:

RESPECT Interview: New ERA Chris Koch Mariano Rivera Talk Impact Of The Legendary Yankee Cap

RESPECT Interview: Authors Alex French & Howie Kahn Talk About New Definitive Book “Sneakers”