Footwear News To Honor Virgil Abloh, Ronnie Fieg, Stan Smith & More At 31st FN Achievement Awards

Image Credit: Footwear News

Footwear News has announced that the fashion industry elite will be honored at the 31st FN Achievement Awards at IAC Headquarters in New York City on November 28.

This year’s honorees will be awarded at the 31st FN Achievement Awards, and have not already received their awards. Air Jordan 1 x Virgil Abloh will receive the eminent 2017 Shoe of the Year award. Additional honorees to be awarded at the event include Hailey Baldwin (Style Influencer of the Year), Alexa Chung (Launch of the Year), Stan Smith (Manolo Blahnik Lifetime Achievement Award), Ronnie Fieg (Collaborator of the Year), Victor Luis (Person of the Year), Gianvito Rossi (Designer of the Year), Malone Souliers (Vivian Infantino Emerging Talent Award), Diane Sullivan (Icon Award for Social Impact), Liz Rodbell and Rick Ausick (Hall of Fame Inductees), along with Attico (Launch of the Year), Birkenstock (Brand of the Year), Steve Madden Ltd. (Company of the Year), and Puma (Marketer of the Year). The Air Jordan 1 x Virgil Abloh was selected as the 2017 Shoe of the Year following after Rihanna (2016 Shoe of the Year / FENTY Puma Creeper) and Kanye West (2015 Shoe of the Year / Adidas Yeezy Boost 350). Tennis icon Stan Smith — who received the 2014 Shoe of the Year Award — will be honored with this year’s Manolo Blahnik Lifetime Achievement Award.

“Every year, we work hard to select the brands, designers, and influencers who shape the shoe industry,” said Michael Atmore, FN’s editorial director. “Leading the pack is Virgil Abloh, one of the biggest fashion forces of 2017, who grabs the shoe of the year crown. Abloh’s Air Jordan 1 set off a feeding frenzy that saw sneaker aficionados and celebrities alike crave the limited-edition style. He joins an incredible list of talents at what promises to be a star-studded evening.”

The 2017 FN Achievement Awards will highlight both rising stars in the game and industry legends. The annual event, often referred to as the “Shoe Oscars,” recognizes and celebrates the best and brightest stars in the footwear industry at the moment. The shoe of the year is based on retail sales, social media prowess, buzz and consumer feedback. The FN Achievement Awards are proudly sponsored by the Fashion Footwear Association of New York (FFANY), Footwear Distributors and Retailers of America (FDRA), Zappos Luxury and Ruffino Wine.

Suggested Articles:

RESPECT. Interview: Gunner Stahl Talks Collection With Puma, NYC Photo Exhibit & More
Reebok Classics Announces Partnership With Lil Yachty